North Marin Water District

District Board

The District is governed by a five-member Board of Directors, elected to four-year terms:
  • Rick Fraites
    Term expires: December 2018
  • James Grossi
    Term expires: December 2018
  • Steve Petterle
    Term expires: December 2020
  • Michael Joly
    Term expires: December 2018
  • John M. Baker
    Term expires: December 2020

Board Meetings

  • 7:00 p.m.
  • 1st and 3rd Tuesdays monthly
  • District Office
    999 Rush Creek Place
    Novato, CA 94945
  • Also conduct 1 to 5 meetings per year in West Marin.


Number of personnel: 50.5 total full-time equivalent positions. Current management contacts are as follows:

About the District

  • Land Area: 100 square miles
  • Population: 63,000(as of 2010)
  • Areas Served: The District provides water service to the greater Novato area (76 square miles), and the West Marin Point Reyes area (23 square miles including Point Reyes Station, Inverness Park, Bear Valley, Olema and Paradise Ranch Estates area). Sewer service is provided by the District in the Oceana Marin development adjacent to Dillon Beach (1 square mile).
  • Budget: Fiscal Year 2017-18: $36.1M
  • Services: Domestic water service including treatment plant and system maintenance in Novato and Point Reyes area; sewage collection, treatment plant and system maintenance in Oceana Marin