Ross Valley Fire Department


The District is governed by an eight-member Board of Directors appointed by the city councils of Fairfax, San Anselmo, Ross and the Sleepy Hollow Fire Protection District to indefinite terms.

Board of Directors

  • Frank Berto
    Sleepy Hollow Fire Protection District
  • Kathleen Hoertkorn
    Town of Ross
  • Jeff Kroot
    Town of San Anselmo
  • Tom McInerney
    Town of San Anselmo
  • John Reed
    Town of Fairfax
  • Richard Shortall
    Sleepy Hollow Fire Protection District
  • Carla Small
    Town of Ross
  • David Weinsoff
    Town of Fairfax

Board Meetings

  • 6 p.m.
  • 2nd Wednesday monthly
  • Ross Valley Fire Department
    777 San Anselmo Avenue
    San Anselmo, CA 94960


  • Number of personnel
    34 total full-time equivalent positions
  • Roger Meagor
    Fire Chief
    Phone: 415-258-4686
    Email Roger Meagor
  • Joanne Lewis
    Administrative Assistant
    Phone: 415-258-4686
    Email Joanne Lewis

About the Agency

  • Land Area
    10 square miles
  • Population
    Approximately 25,000
  • Areas Served:
    • Fairfax
    • Ross
    • San Anselmo
    • Sleep Hollow Fire Protection District
  • Services Provided:
    • Anchorage issues
    • Beach cleanup and maintenance
    • Debris removal
    • Water quality