Marin Local Agency Formation Commission

Planning Agency / Subdivision of the State of California

Municipal Water Districts

A municipal water district may provide water, sanitation, recreation, fire protection, and emergency medical services. The governing body is composed of five members representing divisions of the district. A greater number of board members may be approved by LAFCO during consolidation or reorganization of two or more districts.

The boundaries of municipal water districts may include contiguous or non-contiguous territory, incorporated or unincorporated territory and land located in one or more counties or cities.